Articles Comments

2011 All-West Sierra League Team

Although the play on the field is over, the magical season continues for Mendota, as a number of Aztecs brought home All-West Sierra League honors, after their 12-0 Division VI Valley Championship season.

Mendota’s sophomore sensation Edgar Segura was named the league MVP after rushing for 2,063 yards, received for 214 yards and accounted for 39 total touchdowns for the season.

Fellow Mendota running back Rafa Cervantes shared Co-Offensive Player of the Year honors with Dos Palos running back Kaylan Hill. Cervantes rushed for 1,076 yards and 18 TDs. Hill totaled 1,459 rushing yards and 15 TDs.

Mendota senior linebacker Alfredo Muratalla was named the league Defensive Player of the Year after tallying 115 tackles, seven sacks, three interceptions, five forced fumbles and two recoveries.

League MVP: Edgar Segura, Mendota
Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Kaylan Hill, Dos Palos
Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Rafael Cervantes, Mendota
Defensive Player of the Year: Alfredo Muratilla, Mendota
Co-Outstanding Lineman: Wyatt McBee, Firebaugh
Co-Outstanding Lineman: Martin Maravilla, Mendota
Co-Underclassman: Issac Suarez, Dos Palos
Co-Underclassman: Christian Patlan, Firebaugh
Specialist: Marc Navarro, Dos Palos
Co-Utility Player: Carlos Ramos, Firebaugh
Co-Utility Player: Jerry Warren, Dos Palos
Coach of the Year: Beto Meja, Mendota


QB: Markus Espinoza, Firebaugh
RB: Edgar Segura, Mendota
RB: Rafa Cervantes, Mendota
RB: Carlos Ramos, Firebaugh
RB: Kaylan Hill, Dos Palos
FB: Alfredo Muratilla, Mendota
WR: Juan Lopez: Tranquillity
WR: Jerry Warren, Dos Palos
TE Seth Allen, Dos Palos
OL: Martin Maravilla, Mendota
OL: Michael Dietrich, Firebaugh
OL: Alfonso Perez, Mendota
OL: Aaron Luzalana, Firebaugh
OL: William Woelk, Avenal
OL: Luigi Varela, Dos Palos
OL: Jon Maldonado, Dos Palos

K: Marc Navarro, Dos Palos
DL: Marc Navarro, Dos Palos
DL: Wyatt McBee, Firebaugh
DL: Martin Maravilla, Mendota
DL: Alfonso Perez, Mendota
LB: Carlos Ramos, Firebaugh
LB: Alfredo Muratallia, Mendota
LB: Hank Thompson, Dos Palos
LB: Kaylan Hill, Dos Palos
DB: Omar Cisneros, Mendota
DB: Ramon Leal: Tranquillity
DB: Jerry Warren, Dos Palos


QB: Christian Escalante, Dos Palos
FB: Miguel Leal, Dos Palos
WR: Krystin Reyes, Mendota
WR: Alexis Guterrez, Firebaugh
TE: Arturo Andrade, Mendota
OL: Alex Cardoza, Firebaugh
OL: Jacob Torrez, Mendota
OL: J.C. Munoz, Mendota
OL: Robert Beltran, Mendota
K: Edgar Muro, Firebaugh
DL: Jacob Rodriguez, Avenal
DL: Michael Diedrich, Firebaugh
DL: Carlos Quintania, Mendota
DL: Arturo Andrade, Mendota
LB: Juan Lopez: Tranquillity
LB: Edgar Segura, Mendota
LB: Issac Suarez, Dos Palos
DB: Christian Patlin, Firebaugh
DB: Fran Godoy, Firebaugh
DB: Luke Catrina, Dos Palos

Central Valley Football » Avenal, Dos Palos, Firebaugh, High School Football, Mendota, Tranquility » 2011 All-West Sierra League Team

Filed under: Avenal, Dos Palos, Firebaugh, High School Football, Mendota, Tranquility